9872 Flowing Well Road, De Graff, OH, United States


Shadybowl  Speedway



DeGraff OH: (4/8) Shady Bowl Speedway fans, drivers and car owners finally got to go short track racing at the country oval Saturday. Despite cool weather and damp grounds five divisions of stock cars tackled the oval. The late model division saw Jacob Muncy take the lead at the drop of the green flag. Muncy set a torrid pace before mechanical woes knocked him out of competition on lap eleven. On the restart Columbus driver Buddy Townsend took over the point. Townsend and former track champion Matthew Parsons put on a great show for the fans as they battled for the lead. Parsons came up just short and could only watch Townsends Eakin Road Tire Center sponsored ride take the checker. Jim Lewis Jr., Caleb Reschar and fast qualifier Josh Smith rounded out the top five. Townsend also picked up the Hard Charger bonus by improving the most spots after starting on the tail. The bonus is put up by local Amsoil distributor Elmer Schaeffer.   

 The modified feature saw Chris Prater out front the first sixteen laps before West Liberty’s Chris Parker sped by. Parker then set sail for the checker in his Zimmerman Realty backed open wheeler. Logan McPherson, fast qualifier Daniel McPherson and Prater filled out the top five. Parker also won the DeGraff Service Center Hard Charger award.

 The 25 lap street stock main was a great race with three cars in a tight battle the entire way. Muncy led the first nine counters before falling victim to mechanical issues just like he had in the late model main. Defending track champion Rodney Roush led just one lap before heading to the pits. Roush’s exit set the stage for Kettering's Shawn Stansell, fast qualifier Josh Sage and Buck Purtee to go to battle the final laps. Stansell was able to stay out front but Sage and Purtee were trading paint and positions every lap. When the checker fell it was Stansell, Sage and Purtee the top three. Josh Smith was fourth and Josh Longstreth fifth. Stansell was driving his family owned Badger Plumbing sponsored Camaro. Sage took home the Ohlinger Automotive Hard Charger award.

 The 20 lap compact feature saw New Carlisle resident Josh Foltz in victory lane as he led the entire race in his Quick Parts Neon. Jimmy McElfresh, Nick Barrett, Damien Killen and Dillon Higgenbotham finished in the top five. The Quick Parts Hard Charger award went to Killen.  

  The 15 lap pure stock feature was won by New Carlisle driver Zach Doolin. It was great win for Doolin in his Wholesale Auto Parts racer, as it marked his first ever feature win. Zach Brandyberry and Lane Crabtree  were second and third.

 This Saturday night (4/15) will see the CRA Street Stocks visit the speedway to run a 200 lap feature. This is a “must see” for local fans as it is always one of the best events of the year. The modifieds, pure stocks and compacts will also see action. There will also be an Easter egg hunt for the younger fans. Racing will start at 7.