9872 Flowing Well Road, De Graff, OH, United States


Shadybowl  Speedway


DeGraff OH: (7/9). It was “Racing for Rick Night” at Shady Bowl Speedway Saturday. The event was held to honor the memory of long time track employee Rick Hensel. Hensel had spent three decades at the track virtually doing everything from grounds keeper to flagman. Sadly Rick passed away in June after a lengthy illness.

 The Central Ohio Late Model Association were on hand to run a fifty lap feature. Quincy’s Josh Smith set quick time with a 13.544 lap. The dash win went to Jerry Stapleton, with Jim Lewis Jr. taking the heat. When the green flag flew at the start of the 50 lap feature Lewis took the lead in his Helman Brothers Body Shop Chevy. Lewis, who had won the first COLA race in June led the first nine laps. Smith from his ninth place starting spot took over the lead on lap ten. Smith, behind the wheel of a car with an Eddie Flora built engine dominated the last forty laps to take the win. It was the first win of the season for the former track champion. Jerry Stapleton was second as he and Don Mahaffey Jr. battled for the runner up spot. Mahaffey had to settle for third, with John Stroble fourth and  Scott Sullenberger fifth.

  In modified racing Chad Poole set fast time with a 13.765 lap during time trials. The McPherson brothers had a great night with Daniel winning the dash and Logan notching a heat win. Brian Brandyberry carried the checker for the second heat. The feature saw Jerry Stapleton of Troy take the lead at the drop of flagman Charlie Gifford’s green flag. Stapleton held off the challenges of Kettering’s Mike Carroll until lap eleven, when Carroll got by. Carroll pushed his ML an Sons Properties openwheeler led the rest of the way to post his second feature win of the season. Stapleton, Poole, Joe Pequignot and Brad Yelton rounded out the top five.

 The street stock division had a full field, with twenty cars on hand. Jim Lewis Jr. was fastest during time trials with a 14.574 tour around the three tenths mile oval. The dash win went to Buck Purtee, with Josh Longstreth and Rodney Foster taking heat wins. Dave Sage led the first two laps before giving way to former track champion Rodney Roush of Sidney. Roush set the pace the remaining laps to win for the second time this season in his M&M Head Service backed Chevelle. Purtee and Lewis had a spirited battle for the second spot before Purtee secured the spot. Lewis, Mike South Jr. and Longstreth rounded out the top five.

 Rob Bryant of Sidney made a clean sweep of the pure stocks, as he set fast time (17.006) won the dash and the feature. Bryant was behind the wheel of a Chevy sponsored by McIntire Painting. Lane Crabtree was second in the feature, with Jeff Binkley third, John Eastman fourth and Jason Purtee fifth.

 When the smoke cleared after the compact feature, East Liberty’s Larry Adams was posing for photos in his Detroit Tires backed Neon. The win was the fifth of the season for the veteran driver. Ryan Barrett, Josh Foltz, Jim McElfresh and Kevin McCoy were second thru fifth. Zach Doolin crossed the finish line in fourth, but the car failed a post race inspection and he was disqualified. McElfresh set fast time (17.095)  and Foltz won the heat race.

 Terry Eaton Jr. set fast time in the tuner class with a 15.593 lap. The rest of the night belonged to New Carlisle’s Matt Jackson in his Moore Trucking backed Honda as he won the dash and feature. The win was the fourth of the season for Jackson. Eaton was second in the feature followed by Eddie Kemp, Nicholas Philbeck and Jerry Ellis Jr.

 Justin Neace edged out Jacob Muncey to win the spectator drag races. The win was the second of the season for Neace in his SRT4.

 This Saturday (7/16) will be “Farmers Night” at the Bowl. The late models, modifieds, street stocks, pure stocks, tuners, compacts and spectator drag races are scheduled. Racing will start at 7