9872 Flowing Well Road, De Graff, OH, United States

Shadybowl  Speedway




DeGraff OH (6/11/16): Shady Bowl Speedway fans were treated to a full night of racing Saturday. It marked the running of the Neal Sceva Memorial, an annual race to honor the memory of Sceva. The Urbana resident posted over 600 feature wins during his stellar career. It was also a Relay for Life fund raiser. The Vintage Auto Racing Club (VARC) cars were on display and also competed in a heat race and feature.

 This years Sceva Memorial was for the street stocks. Mike South Jr. led the first 10 counters before giving way to Rodney Roush. Roush battled with Buck Purtee before having to go to  the pit area with a flat tire. Purtee then powered his Ford Falcon out front and led the rest of the way to claim the win. The win was worth $1051.00 to Purtee and his L&B Auto Service backed racer. Nic Burnside turned in a solid performance, as the rookie was second. Rodney Roush, Mike South Jr and Chad Small II rounded out the top five The dash win went to Mike Litchfield with heat checkers going to Josh Longstreth and Chris Abbott. Dave Sage of Piqua was fast qualifier.

 The Central Ohio LateModel Alliance series held its first ever event.  Ross Klinglehofer jumped out front at the drop of the green of the 40 lap feature.. Klinglehofer led thru lap 23 when Fairborn driver Jim Lewis Jr took over the lead. Lewis had his Tristar sponsored Chevy out front the rest of the way. Lewis had just taken the checker when the engine blew in the Williams racing entry. John Stroble was a close second, with Don Mahaffey Jr. third, Tyler Mahaffey fourth and Bob Fihe fifth. Tyler Mahaffey was the winner of the dash, with Jerry Stapleton taking the heat win. Josh Smith was fast qualifier.

 In pure stocks DeGraff’s Jason Purtee followed older brother Buck’s lead as he powered his L&B Auto Service Ford to another feature win. Rob Bryant was a close second, with Jay Lakins Jr. third, Jeff Binkley fourth and John Eastman fifth.

 In modified action Daniel McPherson led the first two laps in his family owned open wheeler. Brad Yelton then took over the lead. Yelton was out front until lap 20 when fast qualifier Greg Stapleton took over the lead. The Troy driver set a blistering pace all the way to the checker in his Springhills Auto Racing sponsored car. Yelton was second, with Mike Carroll, Logan McPherson and Buddy Townsend rounding out the top five. Townsend was the dash winner, with Gregg Jackson and Jerry Stapleton winning heats.

 The tuner class rounded out the nights racing. Matt Jackson powered his Hanger 18 backed four cylinder to another feature win. Fast qualifier Terry Eaton was second. Eddie Kemp, John Eastman and Shane Mathews rounded out the field.

 This Saturday (6/18) will be Dayton Auto Racing Fan Club night. All CURRENT DARF members will be admitted for half price to the grandstand area. The late models, modifieds, street stocks, pure stocks, tuners snd compacts will be in action. It will be a double points event. Racing will start at 7.