9872 Flowing Well Road, De Graff, OH, United States

Shadybowl  Speedway

MAY 5, 2018

Shady Bowl Speedway Win to Josh Smith


DeGraff OH: Shady Bowl Speedway fans were able to take in a full night of racing Saturday after last weeks weathered out program. The Nagel Excavating Late Models put on a great show. Buddy Townsend led the field into turn one at the drop of the green. Townsend held off the field until Jim Lewis Jr. motored by. Lewis looked to be heading for a checker before fast qualifier Don Mahaffey Jr. took over the helm. The move set the stage for a three car shootout to the checker, as Mahaffey, Mike Ward and Josh Smith traded paint and positions. Smith of Quincy OH put his CS and SS LLC sponsored car out front with five laps to go. Mahaffey held on for second, with Ward third Lewis fourth and Kenny George fifth. Smith was the dash winner, with Lewis taking the heat win.

 The Biggin’s Small Engine Repair sponsored Modifieds were next up. Paul Henry led the first two laps of the 30 lap feature before Columbus driver Buddy Townsend took over the lead on lap three. Townsend in his Eakin Road Tire backed racer never looked back as he led the rest of the event. Logan McPherson, Mike Carroll, fast qualifier Sean MacNealy and Brian Brandyberry finished second thru fifth.

 The Buckeye FWD Mini Stocks were on hand to run a 20 lap feature. Andrea Swink led the first lap of the race only to be involved in a pile up on lap two. The end result saw Swink and Justin Kemp out of the event with heavy damage. Columbus driver Jimmy Devuono took the lead on the restart and went on to win the feature. Devuono was sponsored by DAB Collision. Fast qualifier Ryan Tamburo was second, Andru Troyer was third with Eddie Kemp fourth and Dave Hall fifth. Cody Wynn was the dash winner, with Cory Lee claiming the heat win..

 The Hangar 18 backed Hobby Stock feature was won by Jason Purtee in his L&B Repair backed Ford. Purtee set quick time in addtion to the feature win and splitting the Hard Charger award with Jason Feight. Feight was second in the feature followed by Steve Fowler and Jimmy McElfresh.

Darin Crimm carried the checker for the spectator drag cars.

 On Saturday (May 12th) the Bowl will welcome back the Legend Cars, as well as the Nagel Excavating Late Models, Hangar 18 Hobby Stocks and Street Stocks. Racing will start at 7.